Skip to content


Meijer, Katko, and House Republicans Demand Answers from Biden Administration on Failed Open Border Policies

February 15, 2022

Meijer, Katko, and House Republicans Demand Answers from Biden Administration on Failed Open Border Policies

WASHINGTON, DC – Rep. Peter Meijer (R-MI), Ranking Member of the Oversight, Management, and Accountability Subcommittee, and Rep. John Katko (R-NY), Ranking Member of the House Committee on Homeland Security, introduced a Resolution of Inquiry (ROI) on the Biden Administration’s failed open border policies that are fueling the ongoing crisis at the southwest border.

“For the past year, my Homeland Security Committee colleagues and I have been sounding the alarm about the unprecedented crisis on our southern border,” said Ranking Member Meijer. “The Biden Administration, however, has chosen to downplay the problem and mislead the public at every turn. As the U.S. continues to experience historic levels of migrants and deadly narcotics crossing the border, it is time for Congress to reassert its oversight authority to ensure that DHS is upholding our nation’s laws, securing the border, supporting our frontline law enforcement personnel, and being transparent with the American people. This crisis is the result of a failure of leadership, and the Administration must be held accountable.”

“There is no question that the Biden Administration has failed to properly secure our borders,” said Ranking Member Katko. “The Biden Administration’s reckless open border policies have resulted in a record number of illegal migrants crossing our border, a record number of illicit narcotics into our nation, and have made the ongoing crime crisis even worse. Americans deserve safety and transparency. I am proud to introduce this Resolution of Inquiry alongside my Republican colleagues.”

The legislation is also co-sponsored by: Reps. Michael Guest (R-MS), Elise Stefanik (R-NY), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Kat Cammack (R-FL), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA), Carlos Gimenez (R-FL), Jefferson Van Drew (R-NJ), Dan Newhouse (R-WA), Ann Wagner (R-MO), Maria Elvira Salazar (R-FL), Chris Jacobs (R-NY), Jack Bergman (R-MI), Tom Emmer (R-MN), Andrew Garbarino (R-NY), Rodney Davis (R-IL), Clay Higgins (R-LA), Nancy Mace (R-SC), Mike Gallagher (WI), Madison Cawthorn (R-NC), Michael Burgess (R-TX), Dan Bishop (R-NC), David McKinley (R-WV), Michael McCaul (R-TX), Nicole Malliotakis (R-NY), Julia Letlow (R-LA), David Joyce (R-OH), Randy Weber (R-TX), and Diana Harshbarger (R-TN).

Read the ROI here.