Skip to content


Homeland Republicans To President Biden: Stop Ignoring Border Crisis

October 6, 2021

Homeland Republicans To President Biden: Stop Ignoring Border Crisis

WASHINGTON, DC – Republican members of the House Committee on Homeland Security are calling out the Biden Administration’s lack of transparency and attempts to mislead the American people about the border crisis.

In a letter to President Biden, the members laid out indisputable facts and raised serious concerns about the Administration’s handling of this crisis, including ignoring recommendations from senior leaders on the ground, releasing thousands of unvetted migrants into the country, and terminating the highly effective Migrant Protection Protocols (MPP).

The members wrote, “Recently, Secretary Mayorkas testified before both the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee and the House Committee on Homeland Security. Throughout his testimony, he consistently stated that he believes America’s borders are closed and ‘the border is secure.’ But, the facts don’t lie. The border is neither closed nor is it secure. How can one say the border is closed when over the past eight months, CBP has surpassed numerous records for the number of migrants illegally crossing the border? Why is your Administration trying to deceive the American people that the border is secure?”

“Mr. President, it is time to admit that the Trump Administration’s border policies such as deploying the border wall and MPP worked. It is time to admit that there is a crisis at the southern border and that the men and women of the United States Border Patrol are overwhelmed. It is time for your Administration to take appropriate steps to prevent a recurrence of what we witnessed in Del Rio, Texas. We demand transparency from your Administration on behalf of the American people,” concluded the members.

The letter is signed by Ranking Member John Katko (R-NY), Vice Ranking Member Michael Guest (R-MS), and Reps. Michael McCaul (R-TX), Clay Higgins (R-LA), Dan Bishop (R-NC), Jeff Van Drew (R-NJ), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA), Diana Harshbarger (R-TN), Andrew Clyde (R-GA), Carlos Gimenez (R-FL), Jake LaTurner (R-KS), Peter Meijer (R-MI), Kat Cammack (R-FL), August Pfluger (R-TX), and Andrew Garbarino (R-NY).

Click here to view the full letter.