Skip to content


ICYMI: Homeland Republicans Offer GOP Solution To Secure The Border

August 6, 2021

ICYMI: Homeland Republicans Offer GOP Solution To Secure The Border

WASHINGTON, DC – As the Biden Border Crisis continues to spiral out of control, Rep. John Katko (R-NY), Ranking Member of the House Committee on Homeland Security, and House Republicans introduced the Border Security for America Act of 2021 (H.R. 4828) to secure our nation’s borders and prioritize the safety of the American people.

According to preliminary data, border officials encountered roughly 210,000 migrants at the southwest border in July 2021 – the highest level in over 21 years and a 413% increase from July 2020. With over 1.1 million encounters since January, the number of illegal crossings has surpassed the population of the 10th largest city in the U.S.

Just this week, the border city of McAllen, TX announced it is staging temporary emergency shelters in response to a “rapidly escalating” surge at the border. The city reported more than 1,500 COVID-positive migrants were released into the community by CBP in the last seven days.

It’s clear President Biden’s open border policies are endangering the health and safety of the American people. Homeland Republicans are putting forward meaningful solutions to secure the border and end this humanitarian crisis.

The Border Security for America Act of 2021 would:

  • Require the Secretary of Homeland Security to resume construction on the border wall system immediately.
  • Deploy practical and effective technology to support CBP and Border Patrol operations.
  • Hire and train additional CBP officers and agents to maintain an active-duty presence at all U.S. ports of entry.
  • Increase the number of officers for tunnel detection and remediation, agricultural specialists, K-9 units, and supporting officers.

The bill, introduced by Ranking Member Katko, is co-sponsored by Homeland Security Republicans, American Security Task Force members, House Border Caucus members, and House Republican leadership, including Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), Whip Steve Scalise (R-LA), and Conference Chair Elise Stefanik (R-NY).

Learn more here.