Skip to content


House Clears Crucial Katko, Gimenez, Garbarino Efforts to Secure Homeland

April 20, 2021

House Clears Crucial Katko, Gimenez, Garbarino Efforts to Secure Homeland

WASHINGTON, DC – Today the House of Representatives passed several bipartisan Committee on Homeland Security bills to keep travelers safe and address shortfalls in DHS Trusted Traveler Programs, enhance transportation infrastructure resilience, and strengthen critical information sharing on terrorist capabilities related to chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear (CBRN) materials.

“DHS Trusted Traveler Programs are key to making screening procedures more efficient for both pre-vetted travelers and security personnel while keeping our nation’s airports safe. However, as the lead Republican on the House Homeland Security Committee, I recognize there’s more to be done to enhance the long-term effectiveness of these programs. I remain committed to making all necessary fixes and this legislation is an essential first step,” said Ranking Member Katko.

“The Committee on Homeland Security is committed to delivering thoughtful solutions to ensure the safety of the American people and the security of the homeland. Our mission extends far beyond the halls of Congress and touches every state and every Congressional district. I am proud to work alongside my colleagues on the committee who all bring unique perspectives and experiences to advance our mission and I am continually grateful for Chairman Thompson’s commitment to advancing commonsense, bipartisan solutions.” concluded Katko.

“Terrorist groups such as al-Qa‘ida and ISIS have long strived to develop chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear materials to carry out horrendous acts of violence,” said Rep. Gimenez. “H.R. 397 ensures the Office of Intelligence and Analysis at Homeland Security remains focused on ensuring these dangerous individuals never get ahold of these weapons and continue to communicate effectively threats to all levels of government. I thank Chairman Bennie Thompson and Ranking Member John Katko for their commitment to putting our committee on the forefront of this important issue.”

“Whether it’s bus systems, ferries, or passenger rail, the Transit Security Grant Program provides needed funds to transit agencies to protect critical surface transportation infrastructure and the traveling public from acts of terrorism,” said Rep. Garbarino. “I’m proud to lead this effort to provide flexibility to these transportation security assistance grants, which will ultimately bolster our critical transportation infrastructure’s ability to thwart terrorism and future attacks. I’d like to thank Ranking Member John Katko, Chairman Bennie Thompson, and colleagues from both sides of the aisle for supporting my bill and I now call on my colleagues in the Senate to do the same.”

A list of the Committee on Homeland Security bills passed by the House is below:

H.R. 473, Trusted Traveler Reconsideration and Restoration Act of 2021 introduced by Ranking Member John Katko (R-NY-24)

H.R. 397, CBRN Intelligence and Information Sharing Act of 2021 introduced by Rep. Carlos Gimenez (R-FL-26)

H.R. 396, Transit Security Grant Program Flexibility Act introduced by Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY-02)

H.R. 490, DHS MORALE Act introduced by Chairman Bennie Thompson (D-MS-02)

H.R. 370, Quadrennial Homeland Security Review Technical Corrections Act of 2021 introduced by Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ-12)

H.R. 367, Homeland Security Acquisition Professional Career Program Act introduced by Rep. Dina Titus (D-NV-01)

H.R. 408, Department of Homeland Security Mentor-Protégé Program Act of 2021 introduced by Rep. Donald McEachin (D-VA-04)