Numerous Key Homeland Security Priorities Secured in Annual Defense Bill

WASHINGTON, D.C.— The National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2022 will soon be signed into law, after the U.S. Senate passed the landmark legislation today, with nearly a dozen priorities spearheaded by House Homeland Security Republicans.

“The last year of crises hit close to our country’s homeland security mission, from Biden’s border crisis and supply chain crisis to the violent crime crisis felt across this nation and the botched withdrawal from Afghanistan that left Americans behind and our homeland in a significantly more vulnerable position,” said Ranking Member John Katko (R-NY). “Furthermore, 2021 was the year of continual, invasive cyberattacks targeting U.S. companies and our critical infrastructure sectors, forcing Americans to feel the impact in their daily lives. I am proud that this year’s defense bill includes numerous provisions from Homeland Security Republicans aimed at bolstering the homeland security mission and keeping Americans safe.

“Most importantly, I would like to thank Ranking Member Rogers for his tireless work in delivering this critical piece of legislation that not only provides for our service men and women but enhances the nation’s overall security posture. I sincerely appreciate that as former Ranking Member of the Homeland Security Committee, Ranking Member Rogers knows well that homeland security, especially cybersecurity, is integral to our nation’s defense. Additionally, I commend our members, many of whom are wrapping up their first year in Congress, for their leadership. This legislation is a true testament of their relentless commitment to securing our homeland.”

Below is a list of Homeland Security Republicans’ priorities that will be signed into law as part of this year’s NDAA:

  • H.R. 473Trusted Traveler Reconsideration and Restoration Act, introduced by Ranking Member Katko (R-NY)
  • H.R. 396Transit Security Grant Program Flexibility Act, introduced by Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  • H.R. 1833DHS Industrial Control Systems Capabilities Enhancement Act, introduced by Ranking Member Katko (R-NY)
  • H.R. 1895Transportation Security Public Health Threat Preparedness Act, introduced by Rep. Carlos Gimenez (R-FL)
  • H.R. 2795DHS Blue Campaign Enhancement Act, introduced by Rep. Peter Meijer (R-MI)
  • H.R. 3263DHS Medical Countermeasures Act, introduced by Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA)
  • H.R. 3264Domains Critical to Homeland Security Act, introduced by Ranking Member Katko (R-NY)
  • H.R. 5146Afghanistan Withdrawal Threat Assessment Act, introduced by Rep. August Pfluger (R-TX)
  • Cyber Incident Response Plan, led by Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)

Additional key bipartisan Homeland Security priorities that will be signed into law as part of this year’s NDAA:

  • H.R. 1850Supporting Research and Development for First Responders Act, Republican lead Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  • H.R. 2659United States-Israel Cybersecurity Cooperation Enhancement Act, Republican lead Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  • H.R. 3223CISA Cyber Exercise Act, Republican lead Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  • H.R. 5682CBP Donations Acceptance Program Reauthorization Act, Republican lead Rep. Clay Higgins (R-LA)
  • CISA CyberSentry Authorization, Republican leads Ranking Member Katko (R-NY) and Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)



Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?