Skip to content


House Homeland Majority Releases Statement Regarding the Impeachment of DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas 

January 18, 2024

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, all 18 Republican members of the House Committee on Homeland Security released the following statement announcing their support for Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas’ impeachment by the House of Representatives: 
“After our nearly year-long investigation and subsequent impeachment proceedings, and having exhausted all other options to hold him accountable, it is unmistakably clear to all of us—and to the American people—that Congress must exercise its constitutional duty and impeach Secretary Mayorkas. The Secretary has consistently willfully and systemically refused to follow the laws passed by Congress, abused his authority, and breached the trust of Congress and the American people on numerous occasions. The result of his failure to fulfill his oath of office has been a border crisis that is unprecedented in American history—a crisis that has cost the lives of thousands of Secretary Mayorkas’ fellow Americans.”
On Thursday, the Committee held a hearing pursuant to its impeachment proceedings, titled, “Voices for the Victims: The Heartbreaking Reality of the Mayorkas Border Crisis,” in which members heard testimony from parents who have lost children from the fentanyl flowing across the Southwest border and from crimes perpetrated by those coming here illegally on Secretary Mayorkas’ watch. On Jan. 10, the Committee held its first hearing as part of the proceedings, hearing testimony from three state attorneys general. All agreed that, in addition to the crisis wreaking havoc in their states, they believed Secretary Mayorkas’ actions rise to the level of impeachable offenses.
Speaker of the House Mike Johnson stated on CBS’ “Face the Nation” earlier this month, “Our Homeland Security Committee has done its job. They have a constitutional responsibility, a legal responsibility, to investigate what is happening with the agency that they have oversight for. They’ve done that for a year, very methodically, carefully, in detail. And they’ve documented all that.” House Majority Leader Steve Scalise noted similarly“The Homeland Security Committee has laid out tremendous evidence for impeachment. They’ve been building a strong case for months now. And the case is overwhelming.” And House Majority Whip Tom Emmer said“Mark Green I think is running a very fair process. It’s been deliberate, it’s been thoughtful, it’s exactly what the House is supposed to do as far as oversight.”

Throughout the five-phase investigation that culminated in these impeachment proceedings, the Committee published detailed reports of its findings, totaling nearly 400 pages, which are linked below:

These reports conclusively establish that Secretary Mayorkas is chiefly responsible for the chaos and devastation that has unfolded at America’s borders over the past three years. His willful and systemic refusal to follow the laws passed by Congress has incentivized unprecedented mass illegal immigration. He has abused his power by directing his department to implement policies contrary to federal statute and abandoning viable enforcement initiatives, and he has breached the public trust by willfully misleading Congress and the American people on numerous occasions about the consequences of his decisions and the operational realities on the border. As a result of his refusal to follow the law and abuse of power, the criminal cartels have been empowered, Americans and migrants alike are suffering in record numbers, and cities and states across the country are assuming massive financial costs. 

As part of the investigative process, the Committee has conducted 10 full and subcommittee hearings, gathering testimony from more than two dozen witnesses. The Committee, along with the House Oversight Committee, also conducted transcribed interviews of chief and deputy chief patrol agents responsible for the Border Patrol’s nine Southwest border sectors as part of this investigation. These senior agents gave compelling insights into the many consequences of Secretary Mayorkas’ open-borders policies:

Republican members of the Committee include: Chairman Mark E. Green, MD (R-TN), House Committee on Foreign Affairs Chairman Michael McCaul (R-TX), Vice Chairman Michael Guest (R-MS), Subcommittee on Border Security and Enforcement Chairman Clay Higgins (R-LA), Subcommittee on Oversight, Investigations, and Accountability Chairman Dan Bishop (R-NC), Subcommittee on Transportation and Maritime Security Chairman Carlos Gimenez (R-FL), Subcommittee on Counterterrorism, Law Enforcement, and Intelligence Chairman August Pfluger (R-TX), Subcommittee on Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Protection Chairman Andrew Garbarino (R-NY), Subcommittee on Emergency Management and Technology Chairman Anthony D’Esposito, (R-NY), Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA), Rep. Tony Gonzales (R-TX), Rep. Nick LaLota (R-NY), Rep. Mike Ezell (R-MS), Rep. Laurel Lee (R-FL), Rep. Morgan Luttrell (R-TX), Rep. Dale Strong (R-AL), Rep. Josh Brecheen (R-OK), and Rep. Eli Crane (R-AZ).

Throughout the process, Secretary Mayorkas has refused to cooperate with Committee requests for him to appear and provide testimony on his handling of the crisis and his refusal to enforce U.S. law.