Skip to content


Annual Defense Bill Includes Numerous Priorities to Secure the Homeland

December 16, 2022

Annual Defense Bill Includes Numerous Priorities to Secure the Homeland

WASHINGTON, D.C.— Yesterday the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2023 was passed by the U.S. Senate and is on its way to be signed into law, with nearly a dozen priorities spearheaded by House Homeland Security Republicans.

“Homeland security is national security,” said Ranking Member John Katko (R-NY). “I am proud that this year’s defense bill includes numerous provisions from Homeland Security Republicans aimed at bolstering the homeland security mission and keeping Americans safe. Most importantly, I would like to thank Ranking Member Rogers for his tireless work in delivering this critical piece of legislation that not only provides for our service men and women but enhances the nation’s overall security posture. I sincerely appreciate that as former Ranking Member of the Homeland Security Committee, Ranking Member Rogers knows well that homeland security is integral to our nation’s defense. Additionally, I commend our members who led strong, bold efforts to address numerous gaps to bolster the integrity of our homeland security.”

Below is a list of Homeland Security Republicans’ priorities that will be signed into law as part of this year’s NDAA:

  1. H.R. 4094One-Stop Pilot Program Act, introduced by Ranking Member Katko (R-NY)
  2. H.R. 7211Small State and Rural Rescue Act, introduced by Ranking Member Katko (R-NY)
  3. H.R. 6868Cybersecurity Grants for Schools Act of 2022, introduced by Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  4. H.R. 4713DHS Transnational Criminal Investigative Units Act, introduced by Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX)
  5. H.R. 7821DHS Transnational Criminal Investigative Units Supplemental Pay Act, introduced by Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  6. H.R. 4363DHS Contract Reporting Act, introduced by Rep. Diana Harshbarger (R-TN)
  7. H.R. 4476DHS Trade and Economic Security Council Act, introduced by Rep. Peter Meijer (R-MI)
  8. H.R. 4209Illicit Border Tunnel Defense Act, introduced by Rep. August Pfluger (R-TX)
  9. H.R. 5658DHS Roles and Responsibilities in Cyber Space Act, introduced by Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE)
  10. H.R. 5274PREVENT ACT of 2021, introduced by Rep. Dave Joyce (R-OH)