Subcommittee Passes Chemical Facility Security Bill

Media Contact: (202) 226-8417

Washington, D.C. (Thursday, April 14, 2011) – Today, the Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Security Technologies, passed H.R. 901, the "Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Security Authorization Act of 2011." 

H.R. 901, introduced by Subcommittee Chairman Dan Lungren (R-CA), and co-sponsored by full Committee Chairman Peter T. King (R-NY) and 7 other Committee Members, provides for a seven-year extension to the Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) authority to regulate the security of high-risk chemical facilities under the authority granted in Sec. 550 of the Homeland Security Appropriations Act of 2007.

“It is critical that we extend this regulatory authority so that DHS can continue to secure chemical facilities through the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards program,” Chairman Lungren said.  “H.R. 901 reaffirms Congress’ commitment to fight terrorism and improve security at our Nation’s chemical facilities while preserving the ability of the chemical industry to be competitive, remain innovative and create well-paying jobs.”

In 2006, Congress first authorized DHS to regulate security at high-risk chemical facilities.  In response, DHS developed the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards (CFATS), which require high-risk chemical facilities to complete Security Vulnerability Assessments, develop Site Security Plans, and implement protective measures necessary to meet risk-based performance standards established by DHS.  DHS is still in the process of fully implementing CFATS, necessitating an extension of the existing regulatory authority.  To date, DHS has reviewed information submitted by more than 39,000 chemical facilities and determined that 4,744 are high-risk and, therefore, covered under CFATS. 

In addition to Lungren and King, H.R. 901 is co-sponsored by Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL), Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX), Rep. Candice Miller (R-MI), Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI), Rep. Joe Walsh (R-IL), Rep. Billy Long (R-MO), and Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA), all Members of the Committee on Homeland Security.

For more information on today’s markup, including roll call votes, visit the Committee on Homeland Security website.




Related Content

H.R. 901, The Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism ...

To amend the Homeland Security Act of 2002 to codify the requirement that the Secretary of Homeland Security maintain chemical facility anti-terrorism security regulations. Committee Action: Full ...

March 3, 2011

Markup: H.R. 901 and Committee Activity Report

The Committee on Homeland Security met in open markup session at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, June 22, 2011 in 311 Cannon House Office Building to consider H.R. 901, The Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism ...

June 22, 2011

Subcommittee Markup: H.R. 901, "Chemical Facility ...

The Committee on Homeland Security's Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection and Security Technologies will meet in open markup session on Thursday, April 14, 2011, at 10:00 a.m., ...

April 14, 2011