Press Release


McCaul Joins Goodlatte, House Colleagues in Introducing Secret Service Reform Legislation

Media Contact: April Ward (202) 226-8477

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Rep. Michael McCaul, R-Texas, chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security, joined U.S. Rep. Bob Goodlatte, R-Va., chairman of the Committee on the Judiciary, and other House members in introducing H.R. 1656, the Secret Service Improvements Act of 2015.

Since 2011, the Secret Service has had numerous high-profile incidents and security breaches including: the 2011 shooting of the White House; the 2012 Cartagena prostitution scandal; the September 2014 fence-jumper who ran into the White House residence; and the most recent incident where two senior agents, allegedly under the influence of alcohol, disrupted the integrity of an active investigation into a bomb threat.

Chairman McCaul: “As recent incidents have proven, the Secret Service has much work to do to restore the credibility of the agency and regain the trust of the American people. It is time for Congress to direct specific mandates to fix the Secret Service and we can begin by implementing some of the important recommendations made by DHS’s Secret Service review panel. This legislation will help to ensure the agency has the best possible leadership structure, internal policies, tools, and resources to meet its mission. I look forward to continuing to work with the other relevant committees to restore the Secret Service as my committee moves forward with our DHS reauthorization process.”

The bipartisan legislation implements some recommendations from the Department of Homeland Security’s U.S. Secret Service Protective Mission Panel on how to improve the agency. It also strengthens the security of the president, those protected by the Secret Service, and bolsters security at the White House complex. Finally, the legislation enhances Secret Service agents’ training and improves transparency and accountability at the agency.

Other original co-sponsors to the bill include U.S. Rep. John Conyers, D-Mich., U.S. Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner, R-Wis., and U.S. Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee, D-Texas.