Press Release


House Homeland Security Committee Schedule for April 28-May 2, 2014

Media Contact: Charlottee Sellmyer (202)266-8417

The House Homeland Security Committee has announced the following events for next week.

TUESDAY, April 29 at 10 a.m.

Subcommittee on Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Communications     

Stakeholder Assessments of the Administration’s National Preparedness Grant Program Proposal

311 Cannon House Office Building

Invited Witnesses Include:

  • Ms. Kris Eide, Director, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, State of Minnesota (Testifying on behalf of the National Emergency Management Association and the National Governors Association)
  • The Honorable Steven M. Fulop, Mayor, Jersey City, New Jersey
  • Mr. Troy Riggs, Director, Department of Public Safety, City of Indianapolis
  • Mr. William R. Metcalf, Fire Chief, North County Fire Protection District, State of California (Testifying on behalf of the International Association of Fire Chiefs)
  • Mr. Randy Parsons, Director of Security, Port of Long Beach, California (Testifying on behalf of the American Association of Port Authorities)

Subcommittee Chairman Susan W. Brooks (R-IN) on the hearing: “The Administration once again proposed the consolidation of a number of homeland security grant programs, including the State Homeland Security Grant Program, Urban Area Security Initiative, Port Security Grant Program, and Transit Security Grant Program, into a new National Preparedness Grant Program. After discussing the consolidation proposal at length with Administrator Fugate at the Subcommittee's hearing on the Fiscal Year 2015 budget request for FEMA last month, this hearing will provide Subcommittee Members with an opportunity to hear from the stakeholders who would be impacted by the reforms.”

WEDNESDAY, April 30 at 9:30 a.m.

Homeland Security Committee


311 Cannon House Office Building

  • H.R. 4228, the “DHS Acquisition Accountability and Efficiency Act,” introduced by Subcommittee Chairman Jeff Duncan (R-SC), Chairman Michael McCaul (R-Texas), Subcommittee Ranking Member Ron Barber (D-AZ), and Congressman Steve Daines (R-MT), to require the Department of Homeland Security to improve discipline, accountability, and transparency in acquisition program management.
  • H.R. 4007, the “Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards Program Authorization and Accountability Act of 2014,” introduced by Subcommittee Chairman Patrick Meehan (R-PA), to recodify and reauthorize the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards Program.
  • H.R. 3283, the “Integrated Public Alert and Warning System Modernization Act of 2013,” introduced by Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), to amend the Homeland Security Act of 2002 to direct the Secretary of Homeland Security to modernize and implement the national integrated public alert and warning system to disseminate homeland security information and other information, and for other purposes.

*LIVE video of the events will be available here.