Press Release


Chairman McCaul to Receive Homeland Security Briefing at Port of Houston Authority

Media Contacts: Mike Rosen, Charlotte Sellmyer (202) 226-8417

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. House Homeland Security Chairman, Congressman Michael McCaul (R-TX) will meet with Port of Houston officials as well as Houston, Harris County and federal law enforcement, and industry stakeholders to discuss security operations at the port and surrounding industrial complex.  Congressman McCaul, who represents western Harris County, will be available to press to discuss port security as well as recent developments in the Middle East related to national security.

The Port of Houston brings in more imports than any other U.S. harbor and moves the second highest level of all maritime tonnage. More than 8,000 vessels call to port there annually. Roughly 25 percent of U.S. oil imports flow through the Port of Houston. Each day 25 to 30 oil and chemical tankers move along the Houston Ship Channel and it accounts for 31 percent of America’s crude oil refining capacity.

EVENT:             “Future Security Concerns for the Port of Houston”

DATE:               Wednesday, January 30, 2013

TIME:               9am CT/ 10am ET        Closed Meeting

10:45am CT/ 11:45am ET         Meeting VO/NATS

11am CT/ 12pm ET        Press Conference

LOCATION:      Port of Houston Executive Office Building, 111 East Loop 610 North (Exit 29), Houston, TX

NOTE: Port of Houston press contact is Lisa Ashley, Director of Corporate Communications, 832-247-8179.  Press must be prepared to show valid government-issued photo ID at gate entrance.

VISUALS: Aviation and marine surveillance assets as well as the Port Authority Mobile Command Center andHarris Co. Sheriff’s Department’s armored SWAT vehicle, “the Bear”, will be available for B-Roll purposes.



Congressman Michael McCaul, Chairman, House Committee on Homeland Security

Colonel Leonard Waterworth, Executive Director, Port of Houston Authority

Harris County Judge Ed Emmett



Port Officials:

Jimmy Burke, Port Commissioner

John D. Kennedy, Port Commissioner


Elected Officials:

Congressman John Culberson

Congressman Blake Farenthold

Congressman Al Green

Congressman Gene Green

Congresswoman Sheila Jackson-Lee

Congressman Pete Olson

Congressman Steve Stockman

State Representative Randy Weber

Harris County Commissioner Jack Morman


Federal & Local Security Partners:

U.S. Coast Guard – Captain James Whitehead

U.S. Customs and Border Protection – Lynn Fallik

U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement, Homeland Security Investigations – Brian Moscowitz

Harris County’s Homeland Security & Emergency Management – Mark Sloan

Harris County Sheriff’s Office – Major Michael Wong

Houston Police Department – Assistant Chief Mark Eisenman

City of Houston Office of Public Safety & Homeland Security – Chief Dennis Storemski


Industry Partners:

Bay Area Houston Economic Partners – Mr. Bob Mitchell

Buffalo Marine – Mr. Tom Marian

East Harris County Manufacturers Assn – Mr. Jim Griffin

Economic Alliance for the Houston Port Region – Mr. Chad Burke

Gulf Winds International – Mr. Steve Stewart

Houston Ship Channel Security District – Mr. Tom Schroeter

Houston Port Bureau – Capt. Bill Diehl (Ret.)

Lubrizol – Mr. Rick Deel

Shell Deer Park – Mr. Gary Scheibe


# # #