McCaul – Warner Commission on Digital Security

Chairman Michael McCaul and Senator Mark Warner introduced the Digital Security Commission Act on February, 29, 2016. The purpose of this Commission is to collectively address the larger issue of protecting national security and digital security, without letting encrypted communications become a safe haven for terrorists. This Commission brings together the most capable experts and stakeholders from law enforcement, the technology industry, the intelligence community, and privacy and civil liberties communities to discuss the challenges and advise policy makers on this complex issue. The Commission will provide recommendations on the best path forward for the security of our nation and the public safety of Americans.

The Majority Staff of the House Homeland Security Committee released an updated report entitled,“Going Dark, Going Forward: A Primer on the Encryption Debate.” This first Congressional in-depth analysis of the issue summarizes the Committee’s findings, based on more than 150 meetings and briefings Committee staff and Members have held with key stakeholders over the past year and a half. In addition to providing insight into arguments on all sides of the encryption debate, the report lays the groundwork for a Commission  proposed by Homeland Security Chairman Michel McCaul (R-TX) and Senator Mark Warner (D-VA).

A one-pager of the Commission is available, here.

A section-by-sections of the Commission is available, here.


Bipartisan Policy Center Event: Shedding Light on ‘Going Dark’: Practical Approaches to the Encryption Challenge

Chairman Michael McCaul and Senator Mark Warner unveiled their plan to confront security and technology challenges in the digital age. The “McCaul – Warner Commission on Digital Security” will bring together public and private sector experts who understand the complexity and the stakes to develop viable recommendations on how to balance competing digital security priorities.


Interview with NPR’s “All Things Considered”

Chairman Michael McCaul and Senator Mark Warner discussing the McCaul-Warner Commission on Digital Security.


Cosponsors of H.R. 4651 / S. 2604

Rep. Mike Bishop (R-MI) Rep. Barbara Comstock (R-VA)
Rep. Ryan Costello (R-PA) Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-WA)
Rep. Dan Donovan (R-NY) Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX)
Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA) Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA)
Rep. Patrick Meehan (R-PA) Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA)
Rep. James Langevin (D-RI) Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX)
Rep. Kathleen Rice (D-NY) Rep. Mimi Walters (R-CA)
Rep. David Reichert (R-WA) Rep. Earl L. “Buddy” Carter (R-GA)
Rep. Peter King (R-NY) Rep. Candice Miller (R-MI)
Rep. John Katko (R-NY) Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Rep. Barry Loudermilk (R-GA) Rep. Martha McSally (R-AZ)
Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL) Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-SC)
Rep. Susan Brooks (R-IN) Rep. Mark Walker (R-NC)
Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-TX)  Sen. Mark Warner (D-VA)
Sen. Shelley Capito (R-WV) Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME)
Sen. Cory Gardner (R-CO) Sen. Dean Heller (R-NV)
Sen. Angus King (I-ME) Sen. Brian Schatz (D-HI)
Sen. Michael Bennet (D-CO) Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL)
Sen. Gary Peters (D-MI) Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT)
Sen. Jeff Flake (R-AZ) Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH)
Sen. Mike Rounds (R-SD) Sen. Martin Heinrich (D-NM)
Sen. Tom Carper (D-DE)

Statements off the Hill 

The Software Alliance – BSA Center for Democracy and Technology – CDT
U.S. Chamber of Commerce Consumer Technology Association – CTA 
Frances Townsend Information Technology Industry Council – ITI
International Business Machines Corporation – IBM The Internet Association – IA
Kenneth L. Wainstein Michael Hayden
Michael Leiter Matthew Olsen
Michael Chertoff Michael Flynn
Newt Gingrich Niskanen Center
Reform Government Surveillance Coalition – RGS Software & Information Industry Association – SIIA
TechFreedom TechNet
FireEye AEI’s Matt A. Mayer
Virginia Association Chiefs of Police & Virginia Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators Freedomworks
The Heritage Foundation National Sheriffs Association 
Harris County Sheriff Ron Hickman City of San Bernardino Chief of Police Jarrod Burguan
Hennepin County Sheriff Rich Stanek (MN) Boston Police Department Former Commissioner Edward Davis
New York City Police Department Former Commissioner Ray Kelly  Electronic Transactions Association – ETA
Former Director of National Intelligence & Former Director of NSA Mike McConnell   Former NYC Mayor Rudy Giuliani
Professor Jonathan Zittrain, Co-Founder, Director & Faculty Chair, Harvard University Berkman Center for Internet & Society  CIA Director John Brennan


The Commission in the Media 

Houston Chronicle Editorial Board Wall Street Journal Editorial Board
Austin American Statesman Editorial Board Chicago Tribune Editorial Board Member Clarence Page
Washington Post: McCaul-Warner Opinion: “How to unite privacy and security — before the next terrorist attack” LA Times: “Apple backs idea for panel to study technology and national security”
LA Times: “Apple’s war with the FBI” The Hill: “DHS chief: Encryption bill must include all views”
The Hill: “Top GOP Senator Backs Encryption Bill” Wall Street Journal: “Officials, Executives Envision Encryption Commission”
Lawfare: The McCaul-Warner Digital Commission Can Be a Value-Add. Here’s How.  The Hill: “A national debate on encryption – now”
The Hill: Encryption Showdown: Burr-Feinstein vs. McCaul-Warner AEI: Feinstein-Burr Encryption Bill is Too Clever by Half
 Lawfare: Why Intelligence Oversight Matters: Congress Is Key to a Public Debate  CIA Chief Argues for Action on Encryption Before Senate Panel