Katko, Thompson Introduce Bipartisan, Bicameral Legislation to Combat Human Trafficking

WASHINGTON, DC – Rep. John Katko (R-NY), Ranking Member of the Homeland Security Committee, and Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Chairman of the House Committee on Homeland Security, introduced the Countering Human Trafficking Act. This legislation will enhance our nation’s ability to combat human trafficking, make the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Center for Countering Human Trafficking (CCHT) permanent, and increase coordination between DHS components and the Blue Campaign, a national public awareness effort designed to educate law enforcement and the public to recognize the signs of human trafficking.

“Human trafficking is modern day slavery, and it is vital that we work to increase awareness of these vastly underreported crimes,” said Ranking Member Katko. “Improving the ability to recognize the signs of human trafficking will help save lives. I am proud to introduce this critical piece of legislation to strengthen DHS’s efforts and bring us one step closer to putting an end to human trafficking. I thank Chairman Thompson for his partnership as well as Chairman Peters and Ranking Member Portman for their leadership on this issue.”

“Human trafficking is a scourge that exists around the entire world, including here in the U.S.,” said Chairman Thompson. “It is critical that we work to enhance our nation’s capabilities and resources to combat this horrific crime, as well as provide safe, healthy, and supportive environments for victims. I am proud to introduce this bipartisan piece of legislation to enhance our nation’s security in the fight against human trafficking, and I thank Ranking Member Katko for his leadership in crafting this legislation.”

The legislation is also co-sponsored by: Reps. Michael Guest (R-MS), Ritchie Torres (D-NY), Peter Meijer (R-MI), Lou Correa (D-CA), Clay Higgins (R-LA), Nanette Barragán (D-CA), Kat Cammack (R-FL), Val Demings (D-FL), Carlos Gimenez (R-FL), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), Andrew Garbarino (R-NY), Yvette Clarke (D-NY), August Pfluger (R-TX), and Elissa Slotkin (D-MI).

Read the bill text here.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?